2024 Story Log

Logging all the story stuff I've beheld in 2024. (Because "media consumption" sounds horrific, capitalist, and soul-less, but that's indeed another term for what this is.)

January

Title Format Started Finished Details Quick Thoughts
Dark Matter Book December 27, 2023. January 26 ISBN: 978-1-101-90424-4 Interesting and fresh despite the over-saturation of multiverses nowadays. Had me surprised here and there but in the end made me realize I want horror not thrillers. I very much appreciate the little personal analysis-encouraging questionaire at the end of the book. Every book should have that.
I'm Glad My Mom Died Audiobook January 10 January 10 Re-read. Listened via Spotify Read linked review. Loved it. Painfully relatable. Got me back into reading when I first read it, enjoyed it again listening.
Dungeon Meshi Anime January 16 Series Ongoing Japanese audio English subtitles Pretty amusing so far. Never thought about fantasy cooking worldbuilding before.
Spider-Man Movie January 16 January 16 2002, Dir. Sam Raimi Re-watch of a childhood classic. Fun shit.
Spider-Man 2 Movie January 18 January 18 2004, Dir. Sam Raimi Re-watch. Not sure if I have the date exact for this one as I forgot to Letterboxd it. Fun. I understand why Doc Ock fascinated yet terrified me as a kid.
Spider-Man 3 Movie January 21 January 21 2007, Dir. Sam Raimi Re-watch. This one also terrified me as a child. Too many villains for one movie. I understand what they were going for when they did shove all the villains into here though.
#BEOKAY Art Collection January 24 Not Applicable Gumroad Download, Jonathan Vair Duncan Fascinating and thought-provoking, invoking self-reflection and further reflection on the contents. I said the date finished is not applicable as I've browsed through and viewed all the art pieces and read the artist statements several times but still feel I ought to give it more attention.
X-Men Movie January 28 January 28 2000, Dir. Bryan Singer I need Wolverine's manpussy (someone please re-release this movie where everything is the same except Wolvering is a comic-accurate 5'3)
Annihilation Book January 29

February

Title Format Started Finished Details Quick Thoughts
Avatar: The Last Airbender TV Show ~Feb 11 ~Feb 17 Yet another rewatch to freshen up before the Netflix adaption drops. What can I say? My favorite TV show of all time.
Kao the Kangaroo (2022) Video Game Feb 19 Feb 24 Modern adition to classic animal platformer series Played Kao the Kangaroo: Round 2 a lot as a kid, gotta try the new one out.
Avatar: The Last Airbender (2024) TV Show Feb 22 Netflix Adaption It's not good.
And Tango Makes Three Book Feb 27 Feb 27 Banned Book It's just a kids picture book
Gender Queer: A Memoir Book Feb 27 Feb 27 Banned Book Maia used Tumblr too much to be relatable to me and that's coming frrom someone who was on Tumblr since age 14.
Maus Book Feb 28 Feb 28 Banned Book Began reading rapidly before I finished my Gender Queer review despite that not being my usual method of reading/watching.
Echo: Benefits Visual Novel Feb 28 Feb 28 Echo VN universe side story Fanfic upgraded to visual novel. Feels fanfic-y, but it is, so it is fine. It's supposed to be a steamy side story, and it is.
Maus II Book Feb 28 March 1 Banned Book Also finished very rapidly. Very good graphic novel.

March

April